iphone app

Now in the App Store

The Wonders of the World

What's New!

Leaning Tower of Pisa

Ancient Wonders of the World

The original Seven Wonders of the World are currently known as the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. The original Wonders of the World were a collection of man's greatest accomplishments and creations.

The list is based on Guide Books used by Hellenic travelers desiring to visit countries around the Mediterranean Sea. Herodotus and Callimachus documented the orignial list at the Museum of Alexandria.


Current Wonders of the World

The current Wonders of the World list completed in 2007, includes man's greatest accomplishments from around the world, instead of focusing on sites around the Mediterranean Sea.

The new list redesign started in 2001 and was finalized in 2007 with the Pyramids of Giza being left off the list. Some updated lists include the Pyramids of Giza, while others leave them off.